Skip to main content - Skip to contact information

Faculty

Joslynn Affleck

Joslynn Affleck

Professor
Building: 370
Room: 122
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2734
Mail drop: 360
Email: Joslynn.Affleck@viu.ca

Eric Agyekum

Eric Agyekum

Professor
Building: 360
Room: 307
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2235
Mail drop: 360
Email: Eric.Agyekum@viu.ca

Further Info:

John Amaral

John Amaral (On Leave)

Professor (Co-Chair)
Building: 370
Room: 114
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2625
Mail drop: 999
Email: John.Amaral@viu.ca

Gregory Arkos

Gregory Arkos

Professor
Building: 315
Room: 209
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2207
Mail drop: 360
Email: Gregory.Arkos@viu.ca

Further Info:

Amie Armet

Amie Armet

Public Education Lead
Building: 480
Room: 207
Phone: (250) 740-6609, Local 6609
Mail drop: 373
Email: Amie.Armet@viu.ca

Dan Baker

Dan Baker

Professor
Building: 380
Room: 206
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2296
Mail drop: 360
Email: Dan.Baker@viu.ca

Kayla Balmer

Kayla Balmer

Project Personnel
Mail drop: 373
Email: Kayla.Balmer@viu.ca

Todd Barsby

Todd Barsby

Professor & Department Chair
Building: 359
Room: 214
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2285
Mail drop: 360
Email: Todd.Barsby@viu.ca

Bill Beese

Bill Beese

Professor and Chair
Building: 370
Room: 223
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2260
Mail drop: 360
Email: Bill.Beese@viu.ca

David Bigelow

David Bigelow

Chair, Professor
Building: 360
Room: 332
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2608
Mail drop: 360
Email: David.Bigelow@viu.ca

Further Info:

Max Bothwell

Max Bothwell

Adjunct Faculty
Building: 395
Room: 207
Phone: (250) 740-6245, Local 6245
Mail drop: 360
Email: Max.Bothwell@viu.ca

Carl Butterworth

Carl Butterworth

Manager, Deep Bay Field Station
Nanaimo Campus
Building: 480
Room: 207F
Phone: (250) 740-6399, Local 6399
Mail drop: 373
Building 360, Room 302C
Email: Carl.Butterworth@viu.ca

Further Info:

Barbara Campbell

Barbara Campbell

Technician
Building: 370
Room: 212
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2639
Mail drop: 999
Email: Barbara.Campbell@viu.ca

Doug Corrin

Doug Corrin

Professor, Co-Chair
Building: 370
Room: 220
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2231
Mail drop: 360
Email: Doug.Corrin@viu.ca

Further Info:

Christine Couture

Christine Couture

Administrative Assistant to the Dean
Building: 360
Room: 302
Phone: (250) 740-6376, Local 6376
Mail drop: 360
Email: Christine.Couture@viu.ca

Philip Dauk

Philip Dauk

Professor
Building: 360
Room: 305
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2302
Mail drop: 999
Email: Philip.Dauk@viu.ca

Kathi Davis

Kathi Davis

DepartmentTechnician/Registered Professional Forester
Building: 360
Room: 331
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2287
Mail drop: 360
Email: Kathi.Davis@viu.ca

Jennifer Dawson-Coates

Jennifer Dawson-Coates

Fish Health Biologist
Building: 395
Room: 211
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2370
Mail drop: 373
Email: Jennifer.Dawson-Coates@viu.ca

Eric Demers

Eric Demers

Professor, Co-Chair, B.Sc. Degree Advisor
Building: 359
Room: 207
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2033
Mail drop: 360
Email: Eric.Demers@viu.ca

Further Info:

Peter Diamente

Peter Diamente

Technician
Building: 359
Room: 202
Phone: (250) 740-6307, Local 6307
Mail drop: 360
Email: Peter.Diamente@viu.ca

Brian Dick

Brian Dick

Professor and Chair
Building: 315
Room: 207
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2435
Mail drop: 360
Email: Brian.Dick@viu.ca

Further Info:

Sarah Dudas

Sarah Dudas

Canada Research Chair
Building: 373
Room: 224
Phone: (250) 740-6132, Local 6132
Mail drop: 373
Email: Sarah.Dudas@viu.ca

Stefanie Duff

Stefanie Duff

Professor - Chair Fish & Aqua
Building: 380
Room: 208
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2074
Mail drop: 360
Email: Stefanie.Duff@viu.ca

Gordon Edmondson

Gordon Edmondson

Faculty/Technologist
Building: 380
Room: 110
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2613
Mail drop: 360
Email: Gordon.Edmondson@viu.ca

Chris Foote

Chris Foote

Professor
Building: 380
Room: 203
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2406
Alternate Phone: (250) 468-1495
Mail drop: 360
Email: Chris.Foote@viu.ca

Daniel Fox

Daniel Fox

Technician
Building: 380
Room: 114
Phone: (250) 740-6370, Local 6370
Mail drop: 360
Email: Daniel.Fox@viu.ca

Duane Friesen

Duane Friesen

Professor
Building: 360
Room: 327
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2305
Mail drop: 360
Email: Duane.Friesen@viu.ca

Marilyn Funk

Marilyn Funk

Professor
Building: 359
Room: 209
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2481
Mail drop: 360
Email: Marilyn.Funk@viu.ca

Rosemarie Ganassin

Rosemarie Ganassin (On Leave)

Professor
Building: 370
Room: 121
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2257
Mail drop: 360
Email: Rosemarie.Ganassin@viu.ca

Further Info:

Kyle Garver

Kyle Garver

Adjunct Faculty
Email: Kyle.Garver@viu.ca

Shelley Gellein

Shelley Gellein

Technician
Building: 360
Room: 209
Phone: (250) 740-6369, Local 6369
Mail drop: 360
Email: Shelley.Gellein@viu.ca

Chris Gill

Chris Gill

Professor (Chemistry), Co-Director, Applied Environmental Research Laboratories, P. Chem.
Building: 360
Room: 306
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2303
Mail drop: 360
Email: Chris.Gill@viu.ca

Liz Gillis

Liz Gillis

Professor
Building: 359
Room: 208
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2897
Mail drop: 360
Email: Liz.Gillis@viu.ca

Tim Goater

Tim Goater

Professor
Building: 370
Room: 112
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2325
Mail drop: 360
Email: Tim.Goater@viu.ca

Further Info:

Chris Godfreyson

Chris Godfreyson

Program Assistant
Building: 380
Room: 111
Phone: (250) 740-6372, Local 6372
Mail drop: 360
Email: Chris.Godfreyson@viu.ca

Sarah Greenway

Sarah Greenway

Technician
Building: 359
Room: 212
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2453
Mail drop: 360
Email: Sarah.Greenway@viu.ca

Paul Griffiths

Paul Griffiths

Honorary Research Associate
Email: Paul.Griffiths@viu.ca

Erick Groot

Erick Groot

Professor - Biology Dept.,; Fisheries & Aquaculture Dept.
Building: 380
Room: 207
Phone: (250) 740-6365, Local 6365
Mail drop: 999
Email: Erick.Groot@viu.ca

Helen Gurney-Smith

Helen Gurney-Smith

Manager, Shellfish Heath & Husbandry
Building: 373
Room: 207
Phone: (250) 740-6381, Local 6381
Alternate Phone: (250) 740-6302
Mail drop: 373
Email: Helen.Gurney-Smith@viu.ca

Further Info:

Deborah Hearn

Deborah Hearn

Professor
Building: 315
Room: 208
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2641
Mail drop: 360
Email: Deborah.Hearn@viu.ca

Further Info:

Mercedes Hernandez

Mercedes Hernandez

Professor
Building: 370
Room: 117
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2320
Mail drop: 360
Email: Mercedes.Hernandez@viu.ca

Further Info:

Lev Idels

Lev Idels

Professor
Building: 359
Room: 204
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2429
Alternate Phone: (250) 753-0958
Mail drop: 360
Email: Lev.Idels@viu.ca

Further Info:

Stefan Iwasawa

Stefan Iwasawa

Affiliate (Centre for Coastal Health)
Building: 395
Room: 214
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2889
Alternate Phone: (250) 753-3245
Mail drop: 373
Email: Stefan.Iwasawa@viu.ca

Further Info:

Sandra Johnstone

Sandra Johnstone

Professor
Building: 359
Room: 206
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2006
Mail drop: 999
Email: Sandra.Johnstone@viu.ca

Further Info:

Caroline Josefsson

Caroline Josefsson

Professor
Building: 370
Room: 113
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2619
Mail drop: 360
Email: Caroline.Josefsson@viu.ca

Jessie Key

Jessie Key

Professor
Building: 360
Room: 329
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2312
Mail drop: 360
Email: Jessie.Key@viu.ca

Hitomi Kimura

Hitomi Kimura

Technician
Building: 370
Room: 231
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2323
Mail drop: 360
Email: Hitomi.Kimura@viu.ca

Erik Krogh

Erik Krogh

Professor and Co-Director of the Applied Environmental Research Laboratories
Building: 360
Room: 328
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2307
Mail drop: 360
Email: Erik.Krogh@viu.ca

Further Info:

Sarah Leduc

Sarah Leduc

Algologist
Mail drop: 373
Email: Sarah.Leduc@viu.ca

Bohdan Lepak

Bohdan Lepak

Facility Maintenance Worker
Mail drop: 373
Email: Bohdan.Lepak@viu.ca

Jerome Lesemann

Jerome Lesemann

Professor
Building: 359
Room: 203
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2756
Mail drop: 360
Email: Jerome.Lesemann@viu.ca

Dane Letourneau

Dane Letourneau

Project Personnel
Building: 360
Room: 325
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2664
Mail drop: 360
Email: Dane.Letourneau@viu.ca

Huizhu Liu

Huizhu Liu

Professor
Building: 315
Room: 211
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2680
Mail drop: 360
Email: Huizhu.Liu@viu.ca

Further Info:

Frank Lopinto

Frank Lopinto

Adjunct Faculty
Building: 315
Room: 205
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2523
Mail drop: 360
Email: Frank.Lopinto@viu.ca

Kayla Mohns

Kayla Mohns

Project Personnel
Building: 373
Room: 225
Mail drop: 000
Email: Kayla.Mohns@viu.ca

John Morgan

John Morgan

Professor, Chair and Degree Advisor
Building: 359
Room: 210
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2542
Mail drop: 360
Email: John.Morgan@viu.ca

Warren Nagata

Warren Nagata

Honorary Research Associate
Building: 373
Room: 202
Phone: (250) 740-6348, Local 6348
Mail drop: 373

Patrick Ng

Patrick Ng

Professor
Building: 360
Room: 330
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2311
Mail drop: 360
Email: Patrick.Ng@viu.ca

Suzanne Nilson

Suzanne Nilson

Professor
Building: 370
Room: 219
Phone: (250) 740-6362, Local 6362
Mail drop: 360
Email: Suzanne.Nilson@viu.ca

Don Noakes

Don Noakes

Dean, Science & Technology and Interim AVP Scholarship & Community Engagement
Nanaimo Campus
Building: 360
Room: 302B
Phone: (250) 740-6360, Local 6360
Mail drop: 360
Building 305, Room 456
Phone: (250) 740-6291, Local 6291
Email: Don.Noakes@viu.ca

Mark Noyon

Mark Noyon

Professor, Co-Chair
Building: 380
Room: 204
Phone: (250) 740-6371, Local 6371
Mail drop: 360
Email: Mark.Noyon@viu.ca

Further Info:

Chris Pearce

Chris Pearce

Adjunct Faculty
Mail drop: 360
Email: Chris.Pearce@viu.ca

Owen Peer

Owen Peer

Technician - Earth Science and Physics Departments
Building: 315
Room: 204
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2333
Mail drop: 360
Email: Owen.Peer@viu.ca

Raymond Penner

Raymond Penner

Professor
Building: 315
Room: 210C
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2336
Mail drop: 360
Email: Raymond.Penner@viu.ca

Further Info:

Gara Pruesse

Gara Pruesse

Professor
Building: 315
Room: 218
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2337
Mail drop: 360
Email: Gara.Pruesse@viu.ca

Further Info:

Glen Pugh

Glen Pugh

Professor
Building: 359
Room: 201
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2752
Mail drop: 360
Email: Glen.Pugh@viu.ca

Further Info:

Carolyn Ramsey

Carolyn Ramsey

Honorary Research Associate
Mail drop: 000
Email: Carolyn.Ramsey@viu.ca

Carl Ribble

Carl Ribble

Affiliate
Building: 395
Room: 214
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2751
Mail drop: 373
Email: Carl.Ribble@viu.ca

Stephanie Richards

Stephanie Richards

Facility Coordinator, Deep Bay Marine Field Station
Nanaimo Campus
Building: 480
Room: 207G
Phone: (250) 740-6398, Local 6398
Alternate Phone: (250) 740-6398
Mail drop: 373
Building 373, Room 226
Phone: (250) 740-6398, Local 6398
Alternate Phone: (250) 740-6398
Email: Stephanie.Richards@viu.ca

Further Info:

Dominique Roelants

Dominique Roelants

Subject of Collective Agreement Negotiations
Building: 315
Room: 217
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2570
Mail drop: 999
Email: Dominique.Roelants@viu.ca

Further Info:

Spencer Russell

Spencer Russell

Professor
Building: 380
Room: 205
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2467
Mail drop: 360
Email: Spencer.Russell@viu.ca

Tamara Russell

Tamara Russell

Project Personnel
Building: 373
Room: 205
Alternate Phone: (250) 740-6340
Mail drop: 999
Email: Tamara.Russell@viu.ca

Lila Ruzicka

Lila Ruzicka

Cook and Food Services Coordinator
Building: 480
Room: 207
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 3011
Mail drop: 373
Email: Lila.Ruzicka@viu.ca

Susan Sanders

Susan Sanders

Professor
Building: 380
Room: 113
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2895
Mail drop: 360
Email: Susan.Sanders@viu.ca

Rae-Anne Savard

Rae-Anne Savard

Faculty/Administrative Assistant, Science & Technology
Nanaimo Campus
Building: 360
Room: 318
Phone: (250) 740-6375, Local 6375
Mail drop: 360
Building 360, Room 317
Phone: (250) 740-6375, Local 6375
Email: Rae-Anne.Savard@viu.ca

Further Info:

Wendy Simms

Wendy Simms

Technician
Building: 370
Room: 229
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2638
Mail drop: 360
Email: Wendy.Simms@viu.ca

Dean Slonowsky

Dean Slonowsky

Professor
Building: 360
Room: 303C
Phone: (250) 740-6147, Local 6147
Mail drop: 360
Email: Dean.Slonowsky@viu.ca

Tim Stokes

Tim Stokes

Professor & Chair of Earth Science Department
Building: 359
Room: 205
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2004
Mail drop: 360
Email: Tim.Stokes@viu.ca

Jacobus Swarts

Jacobus Swarts

Professor
Building: 360
Room: 309
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2306
Mail drop: 360
Email: Jacobus.Swarts@viu.ca

Further Info:

Dave Switzer

Dave Switzer

Technician
Building: 395
Room: 208
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2809
Mail drop: 373
Email: Dave.Switzer@viu.ca

Catherine Thomson

Catherine Thomson

Post-doctoral Research Fellow, Sessional Instructor
Nanaimo Campus
Building: 373
Room: 201A
Phone: (250) 740-6401, Local 6401
Alternate Phone: (250) 740-6401
Mail drop: 360
Building 370, Room 121
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2257
Alternate Phone: (250) 740-6401
Email: Catherine.Thomson@viu.ca

Christine Tong

Christine Tong

Professor
Building: 360
Room: 308
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2622
Mail drop: 360
Email: Christine.Tong@viu.ca

James Uhl

James Uhl

Technician
Building: 315
Room: 212
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2321
Mail drop: 360
Email: James.Uhl@viu.ca

Michel Vallee

Michel Vallee

Professor
Building: 370
Room: 213
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2340
Mail drop: 360
Email: Michel.Vallee@viu.ca

Further Info:

Joy Wade

Joy Wade

Adjunct Faculty
Mail drop: 373
Email: Joy.Wade@viu.ca

Robert Wager

Robert Wager

Technician
Building: 370
Room: 225
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2324
Mail drop: 360
Email: Robert.Wager@viu.ca

Further Info:

Peter Walsh

Peter Walsh

Professor
Building: 315
Room: 214
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2363
Mail drop: 360
Email: Peter.Walsh@viu.ca

Further Info:

Jane Watson

Jane Watson

Professor
Building: 370
Room: 224
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2317
Mail drop: 360
Email: Jane.Watson@viu.ca

Alexandra Weissfloch

Alexandra Weissfloch

Professor
Building: 360
Room: 326
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2212
Mail drop: 360
Email: Alexandra.Weissfloch@viu.ca

Bill Weller

Bill Weller

Honorary Research Associate
Mail drop: 360
Email: Bill.Weller@viu.ca

David Wessels

David Wessels

Professor and Advisor
Building: 315
Room: 222
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2436
Mail drop: 360
Email: David.Wessels@viu.ca

Further Info:

Marise Wickman

Marise Wickman (On Leave)

Professor
Building: 370
Room: 120
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2232
Mail drop: 999
Email: Marise.Wickman@viu.ca

Jim Wilkinson

Jim Wilkinson

Woodlot Manager and Professor, Science & Technology
Building: 359
Room: 211
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2031
Mail drop: 360
Email: Jim.Wilkinson@viu.ca

Simon Yuan

Simon Yuan

Technician
Nanaimo Campus
Building: 380
Room: 100G
Phone: (250) 753-3245, Local 2100
Mail drop: 360
Building 373, Room 121
Email: Simon.Yuan@viu.ca